Reading Rhapsody – Soulcialite’s Read

4 Jan

This is the first of a series of posts that will end up in My Bookshelf, a category covering books.

I’ve been involved in one bookclub that I co-founded circa 2003. That began to fizzle and then I had a short lived affair with another bookclub which my best friend is in, and they’ve been able to keep their fire going. This month, they’ll be reading Bitch is the New Black.

But over the summer, a new DC transplant and fellow blogger @EvolvingElle decided she wanted to jump into the bookclub organization game. She named the group Reading Rhapsody. So far we’ve met about 3 times and have already lost one member. Hey – it happens.

Here are our reading selections thus far:

Glorious by Bernice McFadden    Group grade: B+

I won this book at a raffle at the first Happy Black Girl Day. The author came highly celebrated. The book was not as well received from the group. I personally, enjoyed the book. It was based on series of factual events, weaved in between this moving fiction.  Fellow readers had an issue with character development. I would describe the development as wide but not deep. It left something to be desired. But it was a fast-paced read.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Personally, I give this book an A+. I admit I was guilt of not completing the reading in time. It started slowly, which made the 300 plus pages daunting, but once you got to the meet of the book you couldn’t really put it down. It didn’t necessarily deliver the faith and religion aspect that I was expecting. (The narrator is a young man who practiced Buddhism, Judiasm, and Christianity before having that faith tested as he was shipwrecked in the Pacific Ocean with a menacing Bengal Tiger named Richard Parker.

The Zahir by Paulo Coelho Group Grade, ummmm, maybe an A-

There were some great quotations in the book, but fellow readers had a problem with how Coelho seemed to interject his ‘philosophy’ into the mouths of other characters. Fellow blogger and book club member, @msrasberryinc, of http://www.msrasberrysworld.com wrote a post reviewing the book.

I enjoyed it, hell, it was my pick. However, the novel didn’t have the same appeal to me that I remember The Alchemist having.  Nonetheless, I’m going to put up a post with inspiring and thought provoking quotes from the novel.

Up next Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self

And I’ll be cheating on my bookclub by reading Bitch is the New Black,  a memoir by Helena Andrews, with my best friends club.  I’ve been looking for a group and a time to read this book, so I was excited when Bestie told me they were reading it.

I’ll admit, I’m skeptical of anyone that claims to have a memoir worthy life at 28. But hey, what can I say, age ain’t nothing but a number. And I’ll say growing up with a lesbian mother would certainly give one an interesting life perspective, huh? Helena has made the rounds and is experiencing success with the book in DC. She’s linked up with Shondra Rimes, who is expected to help her take the book to the big screen.

What other books are on your bookshelf? Have you read any of the books above?

2 Responses to “Reading Rhapsody – Soulcialite’s Read”

  1. Angie March 26, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I’m looking to join a book club. Is this one open to the public? Anyone know of any others in the dc area?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reading and School « Story Treasury - February 4, 2011

    […] Reading Rhapsody – Soulcialite’s Read (originalnajeema.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

