Anything without Works is Dead

13 Dec

The adage goes, “Faith without works is dead.”  Well, let me remix that, anything you strive for is dead in the water without dedication and an unshakable discipline.  But don’t fret, as I do, you don’t have to devour the whole thing, take small bites off of the pie. Thanks to my best friend for reminding me of that.

The Happy Black Woman’s #31DayReset is helping me to take a look at my life and the values that I hold.  In a post earlier this week, I shared the summary of a life assessment and shared the values that I adhere to in my life. Below is Day 4’s assignment.

Day 4: Envision Your Values in Action

Part 1: Am I Currently Living Out My Values?
Now that you’re clear on what you really care about, you want to compare your values to how you’re currently living your life. For each value that you identified in your “Reset 10″, rate yourself from 1-10 on how you feel you’re acting out that particular value in your life. Be honest with yourself.

Part 2: What Do My Values Look Like in Action?
For each value that you identified in your “Reset 10″, list out at least three actions that you currently take or that you should be taking in order to honor and fulfill that value in your life.

Faith {7}

+My feet don’t hit the ground in the morning, my knees do.

+ My constant prayer is that I adhere to the will of God.

+I actively seek God and enjoy attending Worship services and Bible Study.

Leadership (service) {6}

+ I volunteer with a youth group monthly.

+ I would like to take on more leadership at my job.

+ I’d like to work on developing the leadership skills of others.

Economic security {5}

+ I don’t budget well.

+ I am miserly, I don’t overspend.

+ I got a raise!!!! More to work with.

Cultural experience {4}

+ I enjoy art and music and try to expose others.

Sharing love in all my personal relationships {6}

+ I want to meditate with love in my heart daily. If only 5 minutes. Smile with your whole body (via Eat, Pray, Love)

+ I will work at speaking positively and lovingly toward all people, but particularly the people that I love and relate to on a reoccurring basis.

Professional success {6}

+ I work hard to find opportunities for me to hone as well as promote my professional skills.

Respect for the environment {6}

+ I recycle and purchase environmentally friendly products.

+ I honor Mother Earth by enjoying the beauty around me.

+I do not support businesses that pollute the environment.

International travel and world exposure {5}

Building a loving family{7}

+ As my parent’s get older, I try to be more attentive and responsive to their needs.

+ I’m trying to become the type of partner that I seek. Or at least the balance to that partner.

+I recognize that family may be more than just the people you share a blood connection with. Friends are just as important, and I’m honoring them.

Dedication to honoring my physical temple {5}

+ I enjoy working up a good sweat but don’t do it often enough.

+ I do not abuse alcohol.

+ I recognize my body’s need for rest.

New Mantra:

“I am committed to living my best life now.  And while growth may be uncomfortable, these experiences will carry me closer to my goals.”

2 Responses to “Anything without Works is Dead”

  1. jerome espy December 13, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Wow! Make it do what it do, sista. I love this.

    • Najeema December 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

      Thanks so much! This is a challenge that I hope to keep pushing through, and at the end of this 31 days, or however long it takes me, I expect to be a different person. One who has examined my life. Thanks again for reading.

Leave a Reply

