Transitions Diary- Words of Inspiration

22 Nov

“There is no better than adversity. Every defeat, every heartbreak, every loss, contains its own seed, its own lesson on how to improve your performance the next time.”
– Malcolm X

W e all face some type of adversity from time to time.  Life is defined by adversity and overcoming challenges. We just have to remember to have faith and renewed discipline.

What I love about adversity is that it helps you grow to know that what happened was bad, but you got over it.

I think about it in the context of relationships. Following a break up, I would be so distraught and heartbroken – wondering if I’d ever find and fall in love again. Could someone else possibly capture and excite my heart?  And then it happens. In time.

Or when I seriously thought that I might lose everything that I owned -that I might have to drastically change my living conditions. The thought of change can be uncomfortable. But you get over it. Luckily in this case, change didn’t happen. But it was enough to bring me to this thought. When things don’t go your way, when you get uncomfortable, think of it as a chance to grow. Adversity is a seed.

From the adversity you’ve faced, what has been planted on the inside of you?

One Response to “Transitions Diary- Words of Inspiration”

  1. tamara November 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    It’s amazing what we can overcome, when we think we can’t. I’ve had so many things happen to me that I thought I’d never be able to get through. Yet here I am. Some how, some way. I’m far from an optimist and some days are more of a struggle than others, but I’m making it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

