Too Many Facebook Friends – Cut ’em. Here’s How.

10 Nov

November 17 as National UnFriend Day 

Too many Facebook Friends?

I don’t know about you, but I have too many Facebook friends.

And the only person I have to blame for that is myself. Long story short, I was going to use my personal page for promotion of networking activities, but the list got unruly, and now there are a few more strangers than friends with access to my Facebook life. Maybe it was Social Networking Delusions of Grandeur. I think most of us are guilty of that at some point and to some small degree.

I’ve tried a few things to keep my Facebook friend count under control. At this point, I’m not really about accepting new friends. I mean, I need friends I can talk to, not just those that want to look at pictures, or halfway cyberstalk me. And every few weeks, increasingly, I’m considering taking the whole thing down. Even more so with my twitter account – take it down (and maybe start over). But to keep my friend count dwindling, here are a few short tips.

1) Seriously, don’t friend anyone you don’t know. And if you only halfway know them and want to be nosey, then I put them on a limited profile list. Then they can’t see all ya bizness.

2) Review mutual friends and use that to discern whether or not Random Person X deserves access to your timeline.

3) Write a note….if someone wants to be “FB Friends” and they can’t bother to send me a message ‘introducing themselves’ then no go. If I’m half way intrigued, or if I have a free moment, write them. Ask them why they want to be friends. If they don’t respond – press “decline.”

4) Use birthdays to unfriend fake FB friends. I was brilliant when I came up with this one. It’s gonna be difficult and time consuming to eliminate a mass number of people, but instead, use birthday announcements to cut extraneous people out of your FB life.

Jimmy Kimmel has declared that November 17 as National UnFriend Day, a day in which Facebook users should cut the “friend fat” and lose the unnecessary friends who keep asking you “which Harry Potter character you are.”
But Kimmel doesn’t give any suggestions or criteria for cutting the fat. Maybe those above are helpful.  Besides birthdays, folks that send me too many game invites (really, Mafia Wars, really? or you want to build a farm….online? #comeonson ) are prime for fat-triming. AND PROMOTERS…. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

What strategies do you use to cut down your FB friends?

8 Responses to “Too Many Facebook Friends – Cut ’em. Here’s How.”

  1. Lauren November 10, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    I love this piece! I too had added a bazillion people in the hopes of using my page for publicity. I was up to 1700 people. Facebook would recommend & I accepted. Then someone who’d seen my BFF & nephew’s pic on my page walked up to them on the street & spoke….eerrrmmm no. I went on a MASSIVE unfriending spree. Basically, I started fan pages for my interests/endeavors, sent invites to all 1700 people & whittled my list down to folks I actually knew and had at some point in my life spoken to. Now I’m down to 630 and I’m good with that. The world is a dangerous place and everyone don’t need to know my bidness. xoxox

    • Najeema November 10, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      Thanks Lauren. I’m working on my FB Fan page soon!

  2. [flahy][blak][chik] November 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    My rule of thumb is to simply not add anyone I don’t know offline…it’s that simple…I have about 200 friends on FB and I rarely add anyone. If you’re using it for your blog, a “fan” page is the way to go.

  3. Kels November 17, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    I use the birthday tip all the time.

  4. y3y3n.s November 19, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your site and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be coming back and I hope you post again soon.

  5. visalus November 26, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Simplicity is an exact medium between too little and too much.

  6. Dana December 2, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Because I felt bad about ignoring my mother’s church friends, my pastor, alumni, and anyon else who indirectly or directly know me my friends count has gotten out of control.

    I need help on what is the best way to unfriend them (see non-time consuming)? Do I have to go to each of their pages to do it or is their a group “unfriend” option?

  7. Nathan December 13, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    is there a tool or something to tell me which friends I’ve had no interactions with?
    The low activity friends are the ones I would want to remove, but how to find them since they don’t show up on my feeds?

Leave a Reply

