Summer Reading List Part II

24 Aug

Update: I completed Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers over the Fourth of July weekend. It was, in the end, a great read, although I found myself lagging in the chapters about Airplane Crashes.  Perhaps I didn’t like reading about death. The book picked back up towards the end as Gladwell skillfully weaves together the highlights of his message. I would definitely recommend this book, if but for nothing but the anecdotes about the Beatles, Bill Gates, Chris Lagan (a brilliant Midwestern farmer), and J. Robert Oppenheimer. Oh, and for Gladwell’s complex yet moving story of success, fate, and outliers in his own family. A-

Also on my list for the rest of the summer is Glorious by Bernice L. McFadden {Twitter: @queenazsa } which I won a copy of at the First Happy Black Girl Day DC Happy Hour.

Eat, Pray, Love is supposed to be on my reading list as well.  Somehow, I feel like it’s the perfect book to read right now.  I love to think about traveling to Italy, India and Indonesia. But obviously what attracts me more is the spiritual journey and lessons that the author, Elizabeth Gilbert, lived. I, too, am experiencing a good number of transitions, and I know that my journey will be my own individual one, I guess I’m just reading to see what I have to look forward to.

Cover of "The Power of Now: A Guide to Sp...

Cover via Amazon

Another “spiritual mumbo jumbo” book that I’m reading right now is The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle. Please don’t view my description as a sign of disrespect. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this book thus far. There are lots of bent edges  and underlined phrases. I’ve even recruited a twitter friend as a book buddy on this one. Now, like Eat, Pray, Love, is a book to aid me on my own personal journey.

As far as Freakonomics….haven’t been as into it as I thought I might.

Every few months, I make a pledge to read more. Now that I’ve shared my list, I have you to be accountable to.

One Response to “Summer Reading List Part II”

  1. tamara August 25, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    so inspiring. :o)

Leave a Reply

