Detox

6 Aug

Photo Credit: The Examiner

No, not the title of Dr. Dre’s never to be released album.

Detoxification. The process of eliminating waste from the body, mind, or physical space. This can include things, people, and activities.

And whew, do I have a lot to detox. Whether it be cleaning up the clutter from my personal space, or my office space, or my car, I have recognized that my physical space influences my mental clarity. It’s interesting what we choose to hold on to literally and mentally.

My office is currently undergoing a transition to a new email system. During this process, the IT staff encouraged users to eliminate older email messages to prevent clogging up the archive system.  I was amazed at how quickly and easily I took to the task of eliminating messages that I’ve been holding on to for years! Literally, years.

It was freeing. My hand held down the delete button exuberantly. I saw thousands of messages, received and sent, disappear with a quickness and with ease. It made me wonder why I was holding on to them in the first place. Perhaps it was because there was the physical space to do so. In the cyberworld at my agency, there were no limits. I could keep an email from 2003, although I hadn’t worked with those people or thought about that issue in years.

things, people, and activities

As Americans, and people that wallow in excess, imagine how incredibly toxic holding on because you can can be. Even if you’re not a fan, you’ve seen even a smidgen of the show Hoarders. It’s disgusting seeing people hold on to things that begin to take over their lives and overcome them; overcome their ability to use rational judgment about what is safe, healthy, and clean.

That also means many of us are in relationships because they are comfortable, too comfortable to leave, despite the fact we know they’re unhealthy, unsatisfying, or maybe even abusive.

We’re stuck in a rut in jobs that are unsatisfying, because it’s comfortable, or because our bills are overwhelming.

Some of us are stuck in cycles of unhealthy activities, patterns of dealing with stress, disappointment, or unhappiness. I promise you, the same old activities (drinking, smoking) aren’t going to give you a solution to your same old problems. It’s time for a new solution. Eliminate it.

I’ve been following Inspiration Guru Jewel Diamond Taylor for years now and I received her Wednesday inspiration which I’m sharing with you:

God wants to do a “new thing” in your life…but first you have to rid yourself of clutter, fear, limited thinking, poor choices and clinging to what is familiar, safe and comfortable.

Ready…set…G R O W !

Now whether you believe in God is up to you, but consult your Higher Power and know that it works all the same.

This post is a part of The Unexamined Life Series and a post inspired by the NeoSoul Lifestyle Experiment. Visit http://neosoulalterego.blogspot.com/

3 Responses to “Detox”

  1. tamara August 7, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    I can completely relate to this. I have way too much “stuff” cluttering up my space AND my mind. And talk about stuck in unhealthy patterns and cycles – I’m kicking myself right now for continuing to make the same stupid decisions in certain areas of my life. I don’t even know where to begin to unburden myself of all of the stress and “stuff” that is in my life right now. I really need to get it together.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. a stylized hysteria August 7, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Great post. People have a seriously hard time letting go of clutter, no matter what type. Mine is physical clutter. I own way too much crap. And now I kind of want to get off my butt and do some cleaning.

    • phylencia August 9, 2010 at 12:59 am #

      PURGING is PARAMOUNT.

Leave a Reply

