My Hair Journey + DC Workshop: “Natural Care for Black Hair”

20 Jul

“Natural Care for Black Hair” Workshop Focuses on Hair Care

Friend and Mentor, Risikat {of LilSoSo Productions} will host an upcoming seminar on natural care for black hair.  And you don’t have to HAVE natural hair to attend; the seminar is intended for all hair styles and types. The focus is dispelling myths and spreading useful information on healthy hair. Read more about the development of these workshops here in a Baltimore Examiner article.

THIS WORKSHOP IS FOR ALL HAIR TYPES AND TEXTURES. All of the workshops are $25 and require pre-registration.

Saturday, July 31st | 2:00 pm-3:30 pm

This workshop comes right on time for me as I transition my hair style. I’ve been chemical free (meaning I haven’t had a color or relaxer treatment) since last summer. Here is the pic of my last chemical- color.

My last chemical (color) treatment - July 2009

Oddly enough, for some reason, I decided to put tracks in my hair in May 2010. I’m regretting the decision immensely at this point. See the first in my series of weave videos after the jump.

Over the weekend I had my first blow out. Over the past few weeks, I’d been wearing my hair in a curly wash and go style. It works for a while, but was in serious need of a trim.

I trusted a new stylist with a pair of scissors and a flat iron this weekend and I’m pretty pleased.  See, look…

Rasheen did me right. My hair journey begins again.

More about the workshops!

Designed with Black women in mind, this workshop will discuss a variety of natural options for regular hair care and maintenance. This class will address care for all hair types: relaxed, pressed, natural etc. and is geared towards creating a healthy hair environment.

Risikat will offer basic tips and share a few remedies for issues like: dry scalp, hair loss, thickness, growth and more. Students can also bring in the products they already use for feedback, and should also be prepared to sample some of the suggested products. Class size is limited to 12 students in order to accommodate questions.

All workshops will take place:
Smile Herb Shop
4908 Berwyn Road
College Park, MD 20741
301.474.8791 call for registration

4 Responses to “My Hair Journey + DC Workshop: “Natural Care for Black Hair””

  1. agingl5 August 18, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Interesting post! thank you for sharing this information. originalnajeema.wordpress.com really got under my
    skin… Keep up the great site…

  2. I really like looking through an article that will make people think.
    Also, thank you for permitting me to comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cole Stevens Salon Shines with Korto Momolu at NY Fashion Week « Hell In A Handbag - September 29, 2010

    […] done here religiously. Now, it’s an occasional treat.  I’m working out a few things on my own hair journey.  Right now, I’m considering getting the Keratin treatment they offer. They are also big on […]

  2. Cole Stevens Salon Shines with Korto Momolu at NY Fashion Week | Hell In A Handbag - January 25, 2011

    […] done here religiously. Now, it’s an occasional treat.  I’m working out a few things on my own hair journey.  Right now, I’m considering getting the Keratin treatment they offer. They are also big on […]

Leave a Reply

