Originality in Uniform?

12 Jul

In a recent interview, Janelle Monae, who I happen to like, addressed rumors of her homosexuality, which I could care less about, by discussing her fashion choices.

If you’re unfamiliar, Ms. Monae, she wears what she calls a ‘uniform’ – a black suit, tie, and ‘saddle shoes.’

But I’m gonna throw a lil shade….how is this original? What I remember about wearing a uniform was that I didn’t have to think much about what I was going to wear.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I kinda like the gimmick. And in R&B these days, everybody’s gotta have something.

Perhaps there’s originality in the simplicity and the repetition.

I don’t think this detracts from Janelle Monae, her music is phenomenal. I would like to see her do something else … original. Not head shaven original. Her hair is original enough.

I want more pics like this:

Janelle Monae in something colorful. Photo Credit: http://colinresponse.wordpress.com/

Soul artist Janelle Monae. Photo by Dave Ellis / Tony Simmons

2 Responses to “Originality in Uniform?”

  1. EvolvingElle July 14, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I love Janelle Monae as well. Yes, she is unique, and people are gonna talk no matter what you do, so I tell her, “Keep on keeping on”. I like you, I love her in colors…and her wild ‘fro!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Janelle Monae Brings Arch Android Back to DC (+ videos) « Hell In A Handbag - September 7, 2010

    […] JM before, from her high energy performance of Prince’s Let’s Go Crazy or questioning how original her style is.  One thing I won’t question is her […]

Leave a Reply

