Borrowed thought: july 7 “Pay Attention to the signs”

7 Jul

“If you know someone’s dirty, don’t get mad when they stink.”

One of my unofficial mentors (she may be surprised by this title, because we actually don’t meet much) put up a post that had Facebook buzzing: Pay Attention to the Signs { let me know if that link doesn’t work for you}

The above was a quote from that post. And it rang so true today.

People tell you who they are. And when they do, believe them. And when their words may be lies, their actions are the absolute truth.

I once foolishly got into a relationship with a guy that wouldn’t let me into his place to use the bathroom. He told me from the get-go that it would “cause too many problems.”

Well, I don’t always USE the best judgment, but I knew the deal. And I got in a relationship with him ANYWAY!

The shadiness only grew. And as time went on, my suspicions were WELL founded. But it was all about what I was willing to put up with. We blew up when I couldn’t take the half-truths, selective sharing of information, manipulation, broken promises, Indian-giving (the list goes on).

Pay attention to the signs. Your gut won’t stare you wrong. Hell, sometimes it doesn’t even take your gut, it just takes damn common sense.

Don’t judge me for this video. I grew up with white people, I listened to Tesla. Sing along and read the damn signs!



2 Responses to “Borrowed thought: july 7 “Pay Attention to the signs””

  1. Phyllis July 8, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    As usual sis, you are right on time with appropriate advice and sound solutions to things that should make the world of sense to me from the beginning 😉

    • Najeema July 8, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      Sis, learn from me and others that went before you. I know it’s hard to say, but please do. People will tell you WHO THEY ARE. Believe them.
      I’m happy that we are learning and relearning some of these lessons together.
      ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

