Formspring question: are you married?

6 Jul

I guess this is the perfect time to spill the beans on my love life. It’s a SAD story, one I’m trying to get over. So…let me begin.

I am a widow.

I met the love of my life, man of my dreams in 2003. Okay, let’s get it straight, nobody’s perfect, but he was my Prince Charming. Brilliant, Intelligent, Loving Life and Living Extravagantly. We lived in bliss around the District for about three years before we moved into our own home. We were married in 2007 in an extravagant ceremony filled our personal expressions of love.

My Prince Charming had a stroke after a year and a half of our marriage. This adverse health situation was abnormal, even for a man 10 years my senior. I was a very attentive wife during his recovery. But I began to recognize that dealing with his health situation put a strain on the both of us. He felt diminished; a bit of the bravado was gone. Once virile and carefree, he was now even more stressed and noticeably shaken.

We went through countless recovery treatments. Me pushing, probably harder than I should. But I don’t hold back – I expect – demand really, a lot from the people around me. Point blank – I didn’t want my husband to give up on living life, our life.

But God had another plan. One that I might not understand now.

On May 5, 2010, my Prince Charming died.
A life taken suddenly.
It’s still surreal. And so I’ve been sealed shut about it.
Partly because my personal life is my personal life, and many of my readers didn’t know I was married.
But in my quest to open up to all of you, I’m sharing a very painful and personal part of myself.

What have you been dying to ask me?

5 Responses to “Formspring question: are you married?”

  1. Rasheeda July 7, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    I know your heart is broken. I also know that while you will never “get over it” each day will wrong greater strength and greater peace, and bring you to a place where you won’t break down and cry asucj. Nut know that it is now, and always, okay to cry, to jury, to mourn and to be and feel however you feel at Amy given moment. You ate strong because God carries you and makes you strong. Know that it is okay to feel weak and vulnerable too, because in our weakness He is strong. I love you sis, and will always be praying for you.

    • Rasheeda July 7, 2010 at 4:54 am #

      Sorry for typos, stupid autocorrect on phone. Those words should have been as much, but, hurt, any, and are.

  2. Trcey July 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    GOD Bless & Keep You Sweetie! Thank You for Sharing.

    • Najeema July 7, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      I’m very happy for the support that I’ve received for opening up. Thank you for reading and commenting. Yes, the Lord will keep me in the palm of His hand.

  3. Deborah July 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    I pray opening up in this way helps you through your pain. Unfortunately, our pain is in some ways permanent. But God. He is there is hold us, sustain us, love us. I’ll continue praying for you sis, that u are able to press on and through, and find that peace that allows us to move forward and enjoy life.

Leave a Reply

