On Chris Brown’s Emotional Tribute to Michael Jackson

28 Jun

I didn’t watch the BET awards live. Why? I gave up on BET years ago, and I didn’t want to be  disappointed yet again. But I was slightly moved when I heard that Chris Breezy had a breakdown during his performance.

Oh, that sounds mean, you were glad he broke down?

No.

Before seeing the video, I was happily anticipating the fact that Breezy had real emotion. We remember his ‘apology’ video right? #fail

When I learned of his emotional challenge during the performance, I immediately thought less about Michael and more about what SONG Chris broke down to. Man In the Mirror. Come on, you don’t get more textbook publicity stunt than that. Am I saying it was a publicity stunt – no,  it just seemed insincere to me.

I argued with a friend.

HIM: Maybe it was the emotional toll of the performance. MJ was such an influence on his life.

ME: Maybe it was Karma. You know, the pressure of finally understanding that he beat a woman in such a barbaric way. At some point you have to examine yourself. Ironic it was this song that did it to him.

We went back and forth.

HIM: You don’t know what she said to him.

ME:  I don’t care. That type of behavior is never acceptable. You have to be in control of yourself and ultimately know right from wrong.

But after seeing the video, I was again disappointed. I’m not convinced this display of emotion had anything to do with Michael Jackson, and if it did, it wasn’t very sincere. It’s like he recognized he needed to be crying for Michael, but really was coming into the lesson that HIS teacher was sending from the grave.

Later, actress Sheryl Lee Ralph expressed my sentiment.

That’s really all I have to say about it. I was never a huge Chris Brown fan. Sure, his music made me dance, but his behavior was appalling. Yes, we all make mistakes. Yes, we should all be forgiven. But this incident will always live in the back of my mind. I’m not trying to punish Chris. I just want him to be sincere with his emotions. Because there is no bigger battle than the one he’s facing inside.

10 Responses to “On Chris Brown’s Emotional Tribute to Michael Jackson”

  1. Dee June 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    from someone who watched it live, i do think that chris’s tears were sincere, just not for micheal. This was the first time that Chris performed in front of his peers since his incident with Rihanna, and i honestly think his tears came from him hoping that this performance was gonna put him back on the radar for being a good singer and dancer, and not the man who beat up his famous girlfriend. Like you know how after a marathon the runners come to the finish line crying their eyes out. they are crying because they accomplished something they have trained so hard for, so even if they don’t win, they still finished. Chris cried because his MJ tribute was the end of a marathon he had been running since his condemnation. Running to get back to the top spot. I just don’t think it worked.

    • Najeema June 29, 2010 at 8:38 am #

      Yes, he’s been running. Great analogy. I hope things work out for Chris. I really do. I don’t want to condemn him for the rest of his life. I just want him to be sincere and do what’s in his heart and not what he believes others expect of him.

  2. thejasminebrand June 28, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    In the words of my girlfriend, Nikki (not Minaj), “Man, the eff up and finish the song.” I think he was sincere. He’s too conceded to actually volunteer and do the ugly cry during a performance. What we need to be commenting on is that terrible vajazzled jean jacket that he was rocking during his acceptance speech. Why am I the only one that noticed?!?!

    • Najeema June 29, 2010 at 8:37 am #

      I’m dying to find a picture of that jacket. Thanks Jasmine for your comment.

  3. @Shantefenique June 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Chris Brown’s performance was amazing and the best MJ tribute by far!! It should have BEEN done. As far as his display of emotion, it was quite sincere and real. I think this is really the first time after the incident that he’s showed true humility. He’s seemed to have said things that were not sincere. From his dialog with Oprah to all the things that he’s said on Twitter, this was the first times he seemed humble and it’s exactly what he’s been needing to comeback into the spotlight.

    From a PR point-of-view this was exactly what he needed. This really showed his internal struggle with his actions and his acceptance speech when he won, was definitely on point. He is in for a huge comeback and I think people will forgive him. It would be idiotic for fans not to because Rihanna has. Forgiveness is divine. With all of this taken into account, Chris has a bright future a head of him. Hopefully he won’t let the world down again.

    • Najeema June 29, 2010 at 8:56 am #

      Thanks for your PR perspective. I, by far, am not a PR professional. Time will tell whether this was exactly what he needed.
      I hope Chris does have a fantastic comeback, that he is forgiven, and that he implements these lessons.
      Thanks for your comments.

  4. Rhonda Dixon June 28, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Although I find Chris Brown’s behavior appalling it is so disturbing to me that adults would be so judgmental towards a child. Yes, I consider Chris Brown a child. Maybe because I have children of my own..teenagers. As parents you try so very hard but they still make their own choices and some of them are bad choices. I place blame to all the adults who allowed these two children to live very adult lifestyles without proper guidance and supervision. I also can understand how volatile a couple can be when they have both been exposed to ongoing domestic violence growing up. There are times quite frankly I would like to cut my husband but I am a grown woman and fully understand the consequences. If I was in my 20s I would cut him and ask questions later. I luv him dearly, but you know what I mean. Lol. I also would be deeply pained as a parent if my child was to be persecuted and forever judged by strangers and he or she was never given a second chance. I would also like to point out the irony in all this. Chris Brown is being criticized for a trubute he did to MJ who although he was the greatest performer of our time was a very strange man that made numerous questionable choices. His choices were suspect but the world embraced, looked passed, forgave and continued to love him.Just my two cents..

  5. G. July 5, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I agree with you. I was never a Chris Brown fan, so he was never going to get my CD or ticket money, but now I can’t even tolerate his music being on my radio (not even the Nas/Game song he was featured on, which I loved). It’ll take more than a few tears (real or not) for me to give him a second chance. He’s not so irreplaceable that our musical landscape is the lesser for his absence. We tolerate … “strange” (for lack of a better term) behavior from Billie Holiday, Whitney Houston, Prince, James Brown, Nina Simone, and Michael Jackson himself because their music has touched our lives in a way no other could. That’s not true about a lot of other singers with checkered pasts (or presents). Here, we have the opportunity to take a moral stance – not supporting violence against women – with very little negative consequence. Why wouldn’t we?

    • Najeema July 6, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      Wow, thanks G for your response. Great points about odd behavior from other artists because of the profound impact they’ve had in our lives. And who could put it better, “we have the opportunity to take a moral stance – not supporting violence against women – with very little negative consequence. Why wouldn’t we?”

      Sure Chris Brown may have ‘talent’ but he is replaceable – and in my opinion, another R&B artist stepped in to do exactly that – Trey Songz. Now, I have my own brand of issues with Trey because of his overtly sexual lyrics, but, I’m sure CBreezy saw that he could easily be replaced. I also read that it is alleged that Trey tried to convince Chris Brown to cry. He has denied being behind Brown’s behavior.

      In the end, young R&B needs a whole new landscape. One that acts its’ age, or at least responsibly, and that treats women with respect.
      Thanks for your comment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention On Chris Brown’s Emotional Tribute to Michael Jackson « Hell In A Handbag -- Topsy.com - June 28, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Hell in A Handbag and Hell in A Handbag, Hell in A Handbag. Hell in A Handbag said: I'm having a spirited convo on FB over my Chris Brown post. I'd love your opinion. Pls comment on Hell In A Handbag: http://wp.me/puzlk-cr […]

Leave a Reply

