original thought: june 11

11 Jun

Be careful and thoughtful to how you spend your time. What do you do first thing in the morning? Do you roll over to take a sip of the beverage sitting at your nightstand – remnants of a hard night? Do you poison yourself with a cigarette ? Do you spend time in meditation or prayer to a higher power?

Clearly, I have the opinion that one of these choices is better than the other. But generally my point is that the first few minutes that you wake are indicative of the priorities of your life.

Last year I participated in a month long fast. Participants choose their own individual vices to fast from. I prayed for clarity in my life and future direction. I also asked everyone to pray for my marriage. {another day, another time}

But the thing I intentionally did was to abstain from social media one day a week. Sounds absurd right? Nope. I had to do it. When the first thing you think about when you wake up is who tweeted you, or what’s on your Facebook page, there’s a problem.

I always read the quote, “What you focus your mind on will grow.” So think positive thoughts. Pray to the Creator that gives life, if you so believe, but make your first thoughts meaningful.

2 Responses to “original thought: june 11”

  1. Rosetta Thurman June 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I feel the same way about my mornings, Najeema. On my best days, I put forth the effort to get a workout in, then take a walk around my courtyard and say a prayer giving thanks for the day. I don’t always stick to the routine, but when I do, my day goes much smoother, I feel more centered and happier with the things that come my way.

    • OriginalNajeema June 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks so much Rosetta. How we spend our early morning time influences our day. But even more than that, we have a choice every minute to make the best of a situation, and of the day going forward. Thanks again for your comment.

Leave a Reply

