Music Monday The Roots Serve up Sandwiches, Maxwell X Nas collabo, Celebrating Grammy Nods

4 Jan

If you haven’t really been checkin’ for The Roots on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, do I have a gift for you. consider it post holiday cheer!Also in this post is music from Maxwell and Nas ( a collabo on one of my favorite songs) a celebration of Foreign Xchange’s Grammy nod, and a bonus Jill Scott remix. Enjoy!

Get a Free Sandwich From the Roots

The Roots go into Overdrive: 

OriginalPost by All the Way Live

@Questlove was feeling the holiday spirit this weekend as he shared some presents to the world by offering up some “Sandwiches” from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (LNJF.)  These are those awesome little jams you hear The Roots crew play as the show heads into and out from commercial breaks.  Apparently they have now reached a milestone by writing 1,000 of these songs, all within the past 9 months.  Its crazy to think that they can write these jams in no time and makes you really anticipate what they are saving for their upcoming release, How I Got Over, which is slated to be released in February.  Here’s 22 sandwiches, straight from the afro himself…

  1. Once In A Lifetime
  2. Sizuuuuuuuurpin
  3. Head Slicer
  4. Spain (ft. Chick Corea)
  5. The Juice of Chicago
  6. Baatin
  7. Woman
  8. Choir Fire
  9. Teen Town
  10. Cant Keep Headphones on Head
  11. Red Toe Nail Bashing
  12. Blinded By The Light (No Douche Here)
  13. Caveman for Dennis Quaid
  14. Wan Cook Soup
  15. Someone Is Late To Dentist Appointment
  16. I Get Lifted
  17. Werewolf Barmitzvah
  18. Like This Anna Torv
  19. Breezin (ft. George Benson)
  20. EvenzarahlikesTHISone
  21. The Suits
  22. Usher In That Choir

Download HERE

    Maxwell and Nas collaborate on a remix to Help Somebody as a part of the RED campaign. Okay Player wrote this (man, I’m getting lazy)
    God’s Son decided to hop on Maxwell‘s track, “Help Somebody,” for this remix in support of (RED)WIRE’s fight against AIDS. A select group of artists, including Maxwell, Nas, Kanye West, and Santigold will have music available for purchase via iTunes that will contribute to this cause. Details are fairly sketchy at the moment, but you can join (RED)’s mailing list to get more information as it arrives.  

    Cross My Mind (Salah Ananse Remix) by Salah Ananse


      Leave a Reply

      Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

      You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

      Google+ photo

      You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

      Twitter picture

      You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

      Facebook photo

      You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


      Connecting to %s

      %d bloggers like this: