Shecky’s GNO Gets Mixed Reviews

27 Oct
Make it a Girl’s Night Out with Shecky’s

Shecky’s invaded Washington, DC last week. It was a fun and exciting time with lots of clothes and cocktails? But did it make the grade?


Shecky’s promotes their event a the perfect Girls’ Night Out Shopping, deals, and cocktails. Held in spacious locations in cities around the country, such as Constitution Hall in Washington, DC, Shecky’s provides a shopping experience meant to be the event destination for what’s cool and undiscovered in fashion, beauty and fun!  According the Shecky’s Facebook page, which has over 10,000 fans, the mission of the company is To spoil girls with fashion, beauty, fun and the best girlfriend group experiences
I attended Shecky’s with a few virgins, like myself, and an experienced second timer, my best friend. She hooked me up with the tickets. She purchased early enough for us to be receipents of the Shecky’s Goodie Bag! Yeppie!

A Peek Inside the Shecky’s Goodie Bag
Shecky’s guests receievd a Pink recycled plastic bag stuffed with an assortment of trial size goodies.

Not all bags were created equally, however. I received a cannister of Aveeno Clear Complexion Daily Cleansing Pads which was the envy of all of my friends. The Goodie bag also included a Harlequin Romance and Mystery novel, at least three Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotions, 4 full bars of chocolate, including a Sea Salt flavor, two packs of Colgate Wisps and enough toothpaste and teeth whitening products to put my dentist out of business for a year.

Other items included in the Goodie bags was a custom Shecky’s purse holder. My bag was missing one of those, so I was a bit jealous.


A few of the products that I’m excited to try out are Rotho Dry Eye Hydra and the Alka-Selzer Wake Up Call Pain Reliever/Alertness Aid. This product is marketed for use “After a Night Out.”I will be sure to put it to the test.

So, I couldn’t resist a pic of me with my Goodie Bag!

Shopping is a great way for women to come together and bond like never before. We tell each other what works and what doesn’t. We share secrets, discuss problems, and find results for the craziness that overtakes our lives from time to time.
The girls get ready to take on the Shecky’s experience.
A pic with my TwitterFam @OhSoBentley, Model Extraordinare

THE SCENE


Drinks served and a beer tasting and information event. I’m not big on Beer, but let me tell you, whatever Budweiser was served, hit the spot. So did the wine slushes. Check for those next year.








THE HANDBAGS
Handbags, are my thing, thus the name of the blog. Below are a few of the bags I drooled over.


I fell in love with this supple, leather Obama-inspired clutch. Made from leather imprinted with newspaper articles and clippings from the election of the 44th President of the United States, this is a one of a kind piece. Because of it’s small size, it is meant to be worn with an outfit that doesn’t demand a whole lot of attention itself.
Price: around $150




This vendor also had a plethora of hand made leather goods handbags. Many were original styles, some replicas of popular brands. I fell in love with a cognac brown Balenciaga replica priced at $150. I’m kicking myself now for not buying it. A poor plastic replica on the street used to run you about that much a few years ago. Today, Georgetown is rampent with fake and now affordable handbags. But I digress.
 In addition to the beautiful handbags, this New York leatherworker, who doesn’t have a shop and only sells at these Shecky’s events (meaning no web presence) also had unique totes for men, and leather bound notebooks. I should have done some Christmas shopping.
Reviews from DC attendees from Facebook
Akera Ray great event in DC last night. I picked up some cool stuff!
I attended Shecky’s Girls Night Out in Washington, DC on the 10/15/ 09. My girl Paulette and I just love this event. They have such wonderful items and you get to mingo with so many different people. Ladies if you haven’t been to one yet you need to make time and come next Spring. Trust me you will love it 🙂 Oh! And the prices are very reasonable, as well.
My Final Assessment
Overall the event served it’s purpose. Women came, drank, laughed, and shopped. Not necessarily in that order. But, I was not overly impressed by the selection of goods. The prices still seemed a tad bit high. There were lots of excellent items, but also a few perhaps counterfeit goods like a Horse Bag similar to the Longchamp series. I expected a higher standard. My best friend though that the event paled in comparison to the previous year. While I didn’t have the same base of knowledge, I can see where she was coming from. 
THE GRADE: B+

I did have the pleasure of walking away with a fantastic item. I look forward to wearing it and telling you about it here. PREVIEW: 


Shecky’s Girls Night Out events are currently in 18 cities including Philadelphia, Dallas, Boston, Houston, New York, Chicago, Washington DC, Atlanta, San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Miami, and Las Vegas.

The Capitol Fashionista Did a Post as well. Check her’s out here!
2 Responses to “Shecky’s GNO Gets Mixed Reviews”

  1. !i$@ Bee April 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    You know, there was another Shecky's event just yesterday (4/14) in DC. Overall, my impression was similar to yours (I was a Shecky's GNO virgin as well). They hooked a sista up w. the goodie bag though! You can peep my review here :-)P.S. I found your blog through the link list of DC Happy Hour bloggers on VSB.com. What a great event, I hope they do more…

  2. Original Najeema April 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Thanks so much Bee for the comment. I decided to pass on the Goodie Bag this year. I'll be sure to check your review as well. And thanks for the VSB shout out. Yeah, that was a great event, hoping the promoters put another one together.OG

Leave a Reply

