The Lasik Adventure

28 Jan

I’ve been interested in Lasik surgery some time ago to correct my inconvenient eyesight problem. I’ve been wearing glasses since early Elementary School, and contacts have become increasingly unpleasant. I mean, I really don’t think it’s worth it anymore, especially when there is a surgery that is available.
People question how safe the procedure is? I don’t worry about this so much. My doctor over 12 years ago told me that I would be a good candidate. I’m confident that this is safe procedure that has been tested by time. I know it won’t last forever, but for the money, I can add a little bit more convenience and confidence in my life.
I love to wear Sunglasses, but because of my nearsighted blurry vision, it’s never been something that I’ve been able to do. I sounds vain, but I really want to know what it feels like to wake up and see, just see clearly, without having to search for glasses next to my bedside table in the dark.
I went to visit Dr. Paul Kang in of The Eye Doctors of Washington. The office was new, they had just moved into a great building in Washington. The waiting room time was moderate, even though I was technically late. The phones were ringing off the hook, but the staff was professional and patient. The staff are polite, and explain the testing procedures they implement. The office was nice, they sprang for new flat screens for a very sleek look and a Professionally produced video to demonstrate all of the refractive surgery options and benefits.
Paul Kang was almost out of a magazine, I felt very Dr. 90210 ish. Attractive, bright in the eyes and spirit. He helped me to understand the options, explained my test results, and of course, to tell me that I was a PERFECT candidate for the $5K dollar custom Lasik. I pretty much figure this is the going rate. There are a lot of Lasik Clinics/Centers in the area, well, around the world.
The big question….will I do it?Of course I want the surgery. Will I pony up the money? Or will I shop around?

Leave a Reply

