Inaugural Post

21 Jan

The Introduction

An individual with a silenced voice is a ticking time bomb, this I know from experience. When one can’t be vocal, the written word, at least for me, is a very welcomed comfort (like Ugg boots on a very cold day), an escape like sneak peeks of the Examiner’s Scoop page or Mediatakeout with a tall Starbucks latte.

In Washington, you have to be careful not to take yourself too seriously. There are plenty of people on the Hill doing that or on K Street for that matter. My life keeps me humble.

Professional Networking
DC WIN- Turning Relationships into Results; http://www.dcwinonline.org/

My passion is social. I thrive on the connections of individuals based on their interests and common ground. But more, helping people make connections that were only a few links outside our intertwined circles. I use a number of online networking sites to get connected like LinkedIn. Look for them under the section marked PN. And then try to find me online.

I hope this blog will allow all who come in contact with it to be exposed to something new, informative, enlightening, or empowering. Or it could just make you laugh.

Personal Goal Setting

Having just celebrated a birthday milestone, and with the beginning of the new year, personal goals are extremely important to me. I’ve recently read a book called Write It Down, Make It Happen: Knowing What You Want And Getting It by Henriette Anne Klauser. It’s amazing what I’ve been able to accomplish being deliberate in my actions and especially by writing down the intentions of my desires. To help me with these goals, I also use the website 43 Things, http://www.43things.com/ ; I’ll be using this website to post blogs related to my goals. As of today, I have 21 goals. If you aren’t familiar with the website, you should check it out. SterlingFlow is registered there.

DC Soulcialite
I have to admit that I am not the first to use this phrase, not by far. But when I think about my aspirations, the emphasis on soul is important; The soul I have as a human, a Black Woman, as an African American, as a Christian, as an Environmentalist.

On the celebrity side, and who doesn’t like celebrity, I think I’m way to fabulous to live in obscurity. Yet my initial experiences with Paparazzi have been fairly unpleasant. I’ll use this blog to highlight the comings and goings, interesting and thought provoking events, and compelling people.

Well, I needed to get this first one out of the way. I hate the way that sounds, but I couldn’t live with myself if I didn’t get the basics down first.

See you around town, DC and the world.
SterlingFlow

Leave a Reply

